Setting up GitHub

This is a program that I will be using not just for the purposes of my new project, but will need to come to terms with and carry on using for many careers involving Digital media Design. The positives of version control and using Git during our new project are that it offers an easy was to backup any pieces of work. plus as we will be working in groups it allows other members to see changes that have been made to the website we will be creating. It is also easy for everyone to use at is a free open source software, meaning anyone involved in the project can download it.

What is Git?

The major difference between Git and any other VCS (Subversion and friends included) is the way Git thinks about its data. Conceptually, most other systems store information as a list of file-based changes. These systems (CVS, Subversion, Perforce, Bazaar, and so on) think of the information they keep as a set of files and the changes made to each file over time.

Git doesn’t think of or store its data this way. Instead, Git thinks of its data more like a set of snapshots of a miniature filesystem. Every time you commit, or save the state of your project in Git, it basically takes a picture of what all your files look like at that moment and stores a reference to that snapshot. To be efficient, if files have not changed, Git doesn’t store the file again, just a link to the previous identical file it has already stored. Git thinks about its data more like a stream of snapshots.

http://git-scm.com/book/en/v2/Getting-Started-Git-Basics

As I have never used Git before it was all a bit confusing at first, I like the concept of anyone being able to use it and being able to work on group projects with this particular version control system and manage changes being made, however I was not really sure where to start so I had a look at some tutorial videos online which helped a lot, some of them are below.

Below are some screenshots of the steps I used to set up my account. I now have access to Git-shell, where I will continue to explore this new program and hopefully be able to show at a later date some practices I have completed especially once I know which group I will be in then I can experiment further with that element in Git.

screenshots

Leave a Reply

